Sega Announces Ten Additional Games For Genesis Mini Retro Gaming Console

At the end of March, Sega went official with its reimagined retro gaming console called the Genesis Mini. As the name implies, it is a smaller version of the classic console that many gamers enjoyed back in the day. At the time the console was announced, Sega was mum on the complete list of 40 games the console is promised to launch with.

Sega Genesis Mini

What we knew initially were ten of the games, and Sega has now given up details on ten more. The ten games that were just confirmed by Sega include some classics like Earthworm Jim, Contra: Hard Corps, and a bunch more. The full list of games can be seen below:

  • Earthworm Jim
  • Sonic the Hedgehog 2
  • Castle of Illusion Starring Mickey Mouse
  • World of Illusion Starring Mickey Mouse and Donald Duck
  • Contra: Hard Corps
  • Streets of Rage 2
  • Thunder Force 3
  • Super Fantasy Zone
  • Shinobi 3: Return of the Ninja Master
  • Landstalker

These games are in addition to the ten anncouend in March, if you missed that announcement the other ten games we know of so far include:

  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Ecco the Dolphin
  • Castlevania: Bloodlines
  • Space Harrier 2
  • Shining Force
  • Dr. Robotnik’s Mean Bean Machine
  • ToeJam & Earl
  • Comix Zone
  • Altered Beast
  • Gunstar Heroes

The official launch date for the Sega Genesis Mini is September 19, and it will sell for $79.99. In the United States, the console will ship with a pair of full size controllers that rock three buttons. It will also come with an HDMI cable and power cable needed to play right out of the box.