Alienware M17x R4 (2012), Ivy Bridge and Kepler Refresh

Article Index:   

Lost Planet 2
DirectX 11 Gaming Performance



 
Lost Planet 2
Lost Planet 2 is a third person shooter developed by Capcom. It is the sequel to Lost Planet: Extreme Condition, and takes place ten years after the events of the first game. The plot begins with Mercenaries fighting against Jungle Pirates, while featuring major boss battles, extreme terrain, and the ability to pilot mechanized armor suits. We tested the game engine using the stand alone benchmark tool.   



The results for Lost Planet 2 are significant, because as you can see from the weak framerates posted by many of the systems, it's a tough test that separates the men from the boys. At the higher resolution, only our M17x and the two dual-GPU systems comfortably produced playable framerates; of the three, the M17x came out on top once again.

Just Cause 2
DX10.1 Gaming Performance




Just Cause 2
 
Just Cause 2 was released in March 2010, from developers Avalanche Studios and Eidos Interactive. The game makes use of the Avalanche Engine 2.0, an updated version of the similarly named original. It is set on the fictional island of Panau in southeast Asia, and you play the role of Rico Rodriquez. We benchmarked the graphics cards in this article using one of the built-in demo runs called Desert Sunrise. The test results shown here were run at various resolutions and settings. This game also supports a few CUDA-enabled features, but they were left disabled to keep the playing field level.  



There's a big jump from the single-card setups to the dual-card setups, but there's another leap up to the gaming prowess demonstrated by the M17x. At this point, our rig just laughed at Just Cause 2 and put up over 200 FPS at 1280x720.

Image gallery

Related content

Comments

Comments
CDeeter 2 years ago

(cough) contest (cough)

That's one sweet laptop! Love the lighting effects, and it has all the performance I need =)

goingout1231 2 years ago

i still like ratina macbook pro ~!

3vi1 2 years ago

Great review. One question:

I didn't see the $116 power-brick pictured in the review. Since I imagine you'll be carrying it with you everywhere due to the battery life, I'm curious as to how big/heavy it is. Is it surprisingly small, or is it like I picture: with wheels and an extendable handle for easy dragging?

BDarr 2 years ago

The power brick only weights about 2-4 pounds i say but yes the battery life sucks with them. You can only go 2 hours with power saver and the ALienwar fx off.

OleTrondheim 2 years ago

Great review Seth. A bit disappointed that there wasn`t a 7970M to compare against though.

As for GTX 680M test, included Battlefield 3 and other games, there is a user that is testing it right now:

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sager-clevo/673583-p150em-upgrading-675m-680m.html

GTX 680M runs very cool even with huge overclock. A great GPU indeed

BDarr 2 years ago

Alienware laptops are pretty bad Ive had countless problems with mine and they still won't send me a new one even though i have the warranty for it. You can make/customize a laptop from a no name company for cheaper and it will last the same amount of time. You are buying an Alienware for the looking and brand instead of the customer service and quality they used to provide before Dell bought them out. Wish i would have never bought it.

Owner of a M15x Alienware laptop.

krammer66 2 years ago

It is not just Alienware! I just had a Toshiba Qosmio X775 880 great machine but I almost sent is back for the 5th time until corporate sent me a refurbished machine then month later I purchased the M17x. We only read more about the bad then the good replying about their satisfaction.

wuyu0109 2 years ago

I didn't see the $116 power-brick pictured in the review. Since I imagine you'll be carrying it with you everywhere due to the battery life, I'm curious as to how big/heavy it is

WStare 2 years ago

I notice the reviews are always the upgraded to the max versions, the ones the most of us can't afford.

The base model has only  a GTX 660m a 500GB HDD and 6GB of memory and only 1600x900 screen and is $1499.99 to start, I could build or have made a Supper Gaming Desktop or a great gaming laptop for far less than this.

Eye candy shouldn't cost that much more!

Fire_Rider 2 years ago

All the video through I was waiting for a game to be played, Like Stalker or whatever.

All those ports I see in the description!

Freightbum 2 years ago

I have had my M17x R4 since May 2012. This is my third and best laptop I have ever had. I'm fan of Total War games and Guild Wars 2 and this rig can handle anything that comes up. I keep this on a laptop cooler with a 220mm fan and the Alienware fans only really kick in on Shogun 2 when fighting with large armies. Which puts more stress on the cpu than the gpu. The differents in the rig reviewed here and mine is that I have the Ivy bridge 3820 cpu, AMD 7970, and the 32ssd and 750 gb hard drives. If you travel and like to play games and don't mine carring a extra 15 lbs around (adding backpack and other nic nacks) this is the way to go.

Post a Comment
or Register to comment