Corsair SP2500 2.1 Speaker System and HS1A Headset

Article Index:   

It was back at the Consumer Electronics Show that we first caught a glimpse of the Corsair SP2500 2.1 channel speaker system. Dave and I were traversing the show floor while our compadres Mat and Jennifer were off gallivanting at a few private meetings at some lavish Las Vegas hotels. As we headed straight into the Corsair booth to check out some new cooling gear, new solid state drives, and a slick, white 600T case, we walked right passed the SP2500s, which were positioned on and end-cap at one of the corners of the booth. As our discussion with reps from Corsair winded down, we asked if we had seen all that Corsair was featuring for the show. The answer was no.

At that point we were escorted to the SP2500 demo and became more interested as the demo progressed. In a former life, I was a bit of a wanna-be audiophile and was immediately intrigued by the use of a fourth-order closed bandpass subwoofer enclosure, integrated DSPs, class-D amplifiers, and bi-amplified satellites, among a handful of other features. Although the idea of a 2.1 speaker system isn’t terribly exciting to some users in this era of multi-channel gaming audio and 5.1 channel speaker systems, the technology employed by the Corsair SP2500 2.1 channel speaker system grabbed our attention. Not only that, but the simple fact of the matter is, most PC users don’t have the right room and / or desk setup to properly configure a surround sound speaker system. If you own a high-end, 5.1 channel speaker system and your rear satellites aren’t positioned properly, at the right angle and distance from your ears, don’t scoff at the idea of an advanced 2.1 channel system. Odds are the 2.1 channel setup sounds better than the muddled mess that is an improperly setup and configured 5.1 channel speaker system.

That’s enough backstory and ranting. Take a peek at the Corsair SP2500 2.1 channel speaker system’s specifications and features below and then we’ll take a tour of the kit and give you our impressions. We’ll also be featuring a great companion to the SP2500s a little later, Corsair’s recently released HS1A headset. There’s lots to get to, so let’s crank things up to 11 and get this party started.

 

Corsair SP2500 2.1 Channel Speaker System
Specifications & Features
Specifications 

  • Frequency response: 35Hz – 20kHz +/- 3dB
  • 232 Watts total power (measured via FTC “RMS” method)
  • Subwoofer dimensions: 18.1 x 10.2 x 11.7 inches (46 x 25.8 x 29.7 cm)
  • Satellite dimensions: 4.25 x 4.7 x 6.25 inches (10.8 x 12 x 15.9 cm)
Subwoofer:

  • 8” 120W (IEC60268-5 24hr continuous rating) subwoofer with durable rubber surround
  • Fourth-order closed bandpass enclosure design
  • Bridged dual 60 Watt class-D amplifiers with integrated DSP for 120 Watts of power (measured via FTC “RMS” method)
  • Ultra-efficient integral power supply with 100V – 240V AC input
Satellites:

  • Bi-amplified, two-way design with detachable audio cables
  • 3” 40W (IEC60628-5 24hr continuous rating) midrange drivers
  • 1” 16W (IEC60268-5 24hr continues rating) ferrofluid-cooled silk diaphragm tweeters
  • 56 Watts per satellite (measured via FTC “RMS” method): 40 Watt midrange class-D amplifiers with integrated DSP
  • 16 Watt tweeter class-D amplifiers with integrated DSP
I/O, Controls and Programming

  • PC input on subwoofer
  • Dual 3.5mm auxiliary inputs (one on subwoofer, one on desktop controller)
  • 3.5mm headphone output with digital signal processing
  • Wired desktop controller with high-resolution color 1.8” (4.6cm) TFT display and multi-lingual interface (English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Japanese, and Simplified Chinese)
  • Mod X™ theatrical audio processing for Blu-Ray and DVD audio that recreates the theater experience
  • Dynamic DSP programs and EQ curves for late night listening, environment simulation, and optimal enjoyment of game and movie genres
Package Contents

  • Subwoofer
  • Satellites (Two)
  • Desktop controller with 6’ / 1.8m cable
  • 3.5mm to stereo RCA cable for PC input
  • Two 6’ / 1.8m satellite audio cables with ATX4 connectors
  • Power cable

Looking strictly at the numbers, the Corsair SP2500 2.1 channel speaker system may not seem overly impressive. Only 2.1 channels, only 232 total watts, an 8” subwoofer, etc. But there’s definitely more to the numbers. As we’ve mentioned, a 2.1 channel setup may be ideal for users who cannot properly install and configure a 5.1 channel system (and no, sticking your rear satellites on the floor, under your desk is not adequate). Those 232 watts are an actual, measured RMS rating, not some meaningless peak power rating, and that subwoofer is wrapped in a tuned enclosure that minimizes distortion and maximizes output. The bottom line is the Corsair SP2500 speaker system has a lot going for it, that the numbers don’t explicitly show.

Image gallery

Related content

Comments

Comments
infinityzen1 3 years ago

Noticed an ongoing error.

3” 16 watt midrange and a 1” 40W ferrofluid-cooled silk diaphragm tweeter

40 watt midrange class-D amplifier and 16 watt tweeter class-D amplifier

Which way is it? I'm going to go out on a limb and say that the 3" midrange should be 40W, with the 1" tweeter at 16W

marco c 3 years ago

Yup. Will Fix. Corsair's actually got the specs wrong on their site and I just carried over the mistake. :)

specjre 3 years ago

Thanks for the article I have been eyeing these and wondered how they perform. I have the HS1 Headset and I love it. I recently bought some speakers but I am not completely happy with them so these are tempting.

inspector 3 years ago

I will like to pick up a new headset as mines is about to give any day now... :D. I would love to get the speakers too but i was looking for a 5.1 system, i will just have to deal with my monitor's built in speaker and my head set for now. Logitech should have some old controllers laying around!!!!! My controller for the speaker broke and the whole thing is basically useless :(

AKwyn 3 years ago

Man, it seems like stereo sound will be rocking until the day sound days, and we have implants implanted that allow us to feel sound in every way possible.

[quote user="Inspector"]Logitech should have some old controllers laying around!!!!! My controller for the speaker broke and the whole thing is basically useless :([/quote]

Tell me about it, the subwoofer for my X-530 is blown to high-heaven, surely Logitech has some subwoofers lying around for my poor 5.1 sound system...

slugbug 3 years ago

I had the same issue with the controller on my Logitech ZX 560's. In my case I was able to take it apart and found the issue to be a loose wire.

Anyway I really like the look of these Corsair speakers.

marco c 3 years ago

I'm pretty sure Logitech sells spare parts for thier speaker system. I know they do it for some gaming mice.

inspector 3 years ago

Not for products that are not in manufacture any more, that's according to their customer support. :(

realneil 3 years ago

These speakers look great. Clean Lines and not a lot of unnecessary flash & bling to them. They are a tad on the expensive side, but are probably worth the money.

I need a new controller for one of my older 2.1 speaker systems too. It's a Microsoft Sound System II. When it works, it's amazing to hear.

I also have two pair sets of JBL 2.1 Creature-II's that sound great too.

acarzt 3 years ago

Bandpass boxes tend to be HUGE... and this subwoofer looks to be no exception to that. lol

Got any dimensions on that bad boy?

Nevermind, found them!

OSunday 3 years ago

These seem's ideal for a small office, or dorm-room, small space setup where you don't have the space to wire a 5.1, It looks like its got monstrous bass from that PC tower sized sub-woofer that will definitely add the sense of "touch" along with sound from the rattling floors, and high quality satellite speakers so you're not sacrificing to much quality or performance by picking this over a 5.1

I remember seeing some video's/reviews of this at CES I believe and as Corsair's first and only Speaker Audio Product that they put alot of effort into in order to do things right and make a pretty affordable high quality audio setup

rapid1 3 years ago

I really am absolutely happy with my Sony MDRV6 studio monitors personally, but might be looking for some speakers later this year. These look pretty solid unless I go through Sweetwater to get them. I doubt they carry these as they are a professional sound warehouse, but they do have some great stuff at great prices on the side. Why would you go with a 5.1 set up if a 7.1 is available especially for multi media duties though.

deadmanet 3 years ago

A lot of people would be surprised at how much better sounding a nice 2.1 can sound over a poor quality/poorly placed 5.1 system is. I only have the Altec Lansing VS2521. But yet they sound great in my apartment. I have to watch how high the volume is sometimes, cuz it bothers my neighbors downstairs!!!! LOL. This does look like a nice setup though.

rrplay 3 years ago

What 's nice is that Corsair has multiple amps driving the systems midrange and tweetes as well as bass.The bass enclosure is well designed and would likely alleviate the annoying 'hump' empahasis that's seems to be prevalient wtih cheaper products.

the overall design of the puck controller seems like it will last & has enough basic features and convenience of hookup and placement.Both the speakers and headsets look really well made and should sound very well with a lot of difernet types of music and media.

I have Planer Media PM 9's and liked them a lot also 2.1 and like others that posted here the pod controller has gotten a bit funky overtime but is still woking quite nicely.

Def agree a dood decent 2.1 playback is great ! although not as immersive as 5.1 for movies. But clean and accurate is AOK with me.

the headsets sound very interesting as well

Both of these would be on a short - list of possible candidates should the need and indulgence one day arrive.

DScheive 3 years ago

so sexy :D i have a logitech 2:1 speaker system that was $100 that is everything i could need... but anymore than that would surely piss off my dorm mates :D

jonation 3 years ago

I just can't imagine buying bookshelf speakers that weren't from a speaker company- like KRK or Event. You arguably wouldn't even need a sub for bass response. I guess for a more budget package.

as for cans, I love my audio technica ath-m50's. best headphones on the market imo, price/quality. again price is the issue.

dammonritter 3 years ago

I wonder if this is comparable to the klipch 2.1 speaker set. My sub had a malfunction and I had to solder the resistor back on. The back plate was screwed on and adhered to the case with rubber cement, ouch. I am getting sick of jury rigging the setup to keep it working. The sound is amazing though. crisp clear bass that does not distort at high volumes, grenades, and no piercing highs.

gazd1 3 years ago

I like the Corsair brand Smile & i've been buying it lately Wink ,so this Corsair SP2500 2.1 speaker system will be the go for me to use since my bedroom ain't got much of a size to put a 5.1 configuration within it Smile . I've got a queen size bed,42" inch LCD sony tv at 720,several pc's & the usual wardrobe gear within it Crying .

deinabog 3 years ago

I bought a set of these to replace my Klipsch Promedia systems. The amps in the subwoofers blew within two months of each other (can you believe it?). The system sounds great in games, movies, and music.

mentaldisorder 3 years ago

Eh, I think Corsair should stick to memory and a limited amount of cases.  I begin to worry when you see such a huge diversity in peripherals and components.  I mean sure they are successful, but who is really manufacturing these, I doubt it's Corsair.  I would stick to a company with sound system, headphone and audio card experience.  But that's me.

coolice 3 years ago

WOOHOO!! My Request was fulfilled!! Thanks for the review HH.

i'm really considering selling my z5500 to invest in a decent 2.1 set up!!

Drake_McNasty 3 years ago

Selling z5500's for a 2.1 setup???? That's just crazy talk! I actually just did the same except I moved my z5500's to the living room as my main surround sound. My office is just too small for that much power. I'm rocking a 2.1 bose system that I got for free and I actually like them a little bit better because of the small area. It all depends on your space, a 2.1 can do the trick very nicely.

Drake_McNasty 3 years ago

Hey I also browse legit reviews frequently and they did a nice review of this system's younger brother; the sp2200 2.1. I know a lot of people were complaining about the price tag on this set so I just thought I would share that there is a cheaper version.

http://legitreviews.com/article/1584/1/

supergurudoss 3 years ago

$260?? No thank you, I think I'll still stick to my Logitech Z-5500's which I got at an awesome price of $220!!! Some companies just shouldn't enter other peripheral markets as another user posted here!!!

dammonritter 3 years ago

That sub is large, however, these things sound great. I have a pair of the Klipsch 2.1s and they are fantastic but the connections are wearing down. I attempted to make a switch for it so that I could mount the switch to the underside of my desk (sub is under desk in corner), so that I don't have to keep moving it to turn it on. They are going on 4-5 years old, maybe I will just get these, lol. I checked out a couple of video reviews and seeing them in scale with a person and hearing the review I had to go find some to listen to, two thumbs up.

Post a Comment
or Register to comment