Windows 8 Power Struggle: Metro vs Desktop

Article Index:   
The reason Metro and the Desktop interface don't work well together -- maybe the reason they can't work well together -- is that they take two fundamentally different approaches to displaying content. From the dawn of Windows up through Windows 7, Microsoft treated the operating system as a neutral framework designed to facilitate the navigation and display of whatever software the user saw fit to install. Take a look at the Start Screen again, this time from a "most common tasks" perspective.


Most common tasks, looking pretty and ready to fire up.

The programs listed above cover the vast majority of what computers are used for on a day-to-day basis, and the only programmed called out by name is Internet Explorer. Everything else is listed by task, not application name. This is Microsoft's new approach to computing and their formula for reinventing Windows. When it comes to consuming content, Metro is beautiful.


Music and Videos app, also nicely presented...

The Music and Video apps presents a seamless method of viewing TV shows, movies, and albums, with gorgeous screenshots and easily accessed controls.

Unfortunately, things rapidly fall apart when you install multiple programs or need to produce content of your own. Here's the Start Menu after we've installed a few test programs.


Metro's complete mess of an eye chart with a few program's installed.

The layout that works extremely well when working with a small number of tasks but falls apart completely when dealing with large numbers of programs and icons. There's only a handful of test software installed on the system shown above. What you're seeing is the translation of options normally embedded within sub-folders in the Start Menu when they're instead flattened and displayed in a single tree. It's a wretched excuse for icon layout, and zooming out doesn't exactly help.


Let's zoom out to get more screen real estate... oh, that's not good.

In these screenshots, we've purposely preserved the wasted space on a 1900x1200 monitor to demonstrate just how much of the screen goes unused. Holding down Control and scrolling backwards once, while in the Start Menu, creates the above.


Find the app needle in this haystack.

The more you need to edit content, the less time it takes for Metro to become useless. That's fine -- Microsoft left Desktop mode in for precisely this reason -- but forcing users to adopt the Smart Screen fractures the idea of shared OS functionality. In Desktop mode, the mouse is a sophisticated tool used for selecting options and moving content. In Metro, the mouse is your finger. There's no more double-clicking, while sub-menu functionality varies considerably from program to program.

This thing still needs work...

Image gallery

Related content

Comments

Comments
kiristo 2 years ago

I hate change, so I probably will hate Metro.

nigelwright7557 2 years ago

Metro is basically a phone OS. Microsoft has cut out lots of .net to get Metro small enough for a phone.

You cant use menu or menuitem commands any more. You cant do graphics without getting into directx.

Access to the hard disc is limited for apps.

Erakith 2 years ago

If Metro is forced on me I will move to Linux. I refuse to be put into an environment I can't benefit from.

RTietjens 2 years ago

Metro UI is absolute crap. For those who, like me, feel that this "change for change's sake" nonsesne has to stop, I recommend Zorin Linux, designed to "look and feel" like Windows XP; or Linux XP, which should be obvious.

I'll have to build my own PCs again, once the OEMs start forcing Windows 8 on us. A pre-installed Windows 8 is a deal-breaker for me; I won't buy it.

realneil 2 years ago

I'm glad that I don't really ~HAVE~ to adopt Windows-8 and can keep the Windows-7 that I own now. (You know,....the one that's already bought and paid for) I could probably make this OS work for me for many years to come if I have to. And I will too.

I have Linux Mint 11 on one of my PC's already, and I'll give the Zorin Linux a try too.

If Micro(don't listen to us)soft leaves Metro in the force feeding tube, I'd rather go hungry..

lifeskills 2 years ago

I used Windows 8 on my main of for about 4 days before canning it. I do still have it on my htpc though. I like the changes made to the task manager, file transfer, and much more. Being a desktop user I can't quite get on board with metro. Like stated in the article, wading through the metro interface is not quite productive, especially when on a 5760x1080 resolution! It's common for me to put tv episodes on one screen while gaming in the middle, and an internet browser on the other side. With metro, every time I bring up the start menu, the screen is blocked for whoever else might be watching. And I have to disagree about browsing media through metro. Searching while in the music task doesn't even bother looking in your library, but jumps straight to the music store, to purchase music you allready own. Once you are able to actually find your music, forget about finding what you want. As far as I can tell if you are browsing by artist, there is no way to quickly enter "artist album" to browse a certain artist's albums. The thing just seems dumbed down to me. Since when does everything need an app store? Sorry for the rant guys, but this needs a lot of work. I hope you can turn metro off for the final build

digitaldd 2 years ago

[quote user="lifeskills"]

I used Windows 8 on my main of for about 4 days before canning it. I do still have it on my htpc though. I like the changes made to the task manager, file transfer, and much more. Being a desktop user I can't quite get on board with metro. Like stated in the article, wading through the metro interface is not quite productive, especially when on a 5760x1080 resolution! It's common for me to put tv episodes on one screen while gaming in the middle, and an internet browser on the other side. With metro, every time I bring up the start menu, the screen is blocked for whoever else might be watching. And I have to disagree about browsing media through metro. Searching while in the music task doesn't even bother looking in your library, but jumps straight to the music store, to purchase music you allready own. Once you are able to actually find your music, forget about finding what you want. As far as I can tell if you are browsing by artist, there is no way to quickly enter "artist album" to browse a certain artist's albums. The thing just seems dumbed down to me. Since when does everything need an app store? Sorry for the rant guys, but this needs a lot of work. I hope you can turn metro off for the final build

[/quote]

 

I had some of the same frustrations initially, then I realized that you can simply re-associate your media files with Media Center or Windows Media Player instead of the Metro based Video and Music apps. What I really don't like is that most of the Metro apps seem to be for touchscreens mainly and do not work very well via keyboard/mouse. Also the metro style stuff doesn't offer any customization everything is either full screen which no re-sizing of the toolbars/etc of the application or 2/3 vs 1/3 and thus getting two apps on screen with primary focus on one. Also adding a Programs Toolbar on the desktop mimics the Start menu without using the third party tool which adds a Start menu.

 

digitaldd 2 years ago

I myself am more concerned with various issues with the new metro version of IE than anything with the Start Menu, I mean you can add a programs Toolbar to the task bar to mimic a Start Menu for Non Metro apps. I mean right now the metro version of IE has no configurable options like disabling 3rd party cookies, setting security zones, tab management, etc. Also I'm finding that often my  Metro version of IE loses any tabs that were open just of its own free will and there's no way to access recently closed tabs/windows/groups, you can at least find the tabs in the history but that is not very efficient.

PMoon 2 years ago

I'm really confused on your conclusion. Are you, really, saying clicking *1* tile is harder then the OSX transition was? I mean seriously, if so, then you have such a skewed view of the past it throws everything else you said into doubt.

"Forcing people to change to something different when the superior interface for a particular task is still included in the OS will only breed resentment."

It's a tile right there on the front of the screen! And I call BS; ANY change will "...only breed resentment". Oh and so will doing nothing.

heato 2 years ago

Metro re-minds me of the latest 'update' for Xbox live. Next I suppose I'll need Kinect to get around my desktop machine. If that fails, I'll just stay with Mint Linux 11. Smooth and it works.

ppgreat 2 years ago

After playing around with Windows 8 for a while and viewing innumerable videos and reviews, I agree that Metro just isn't suited to desktop use. Phone and tablet, absolutely. Although there appears to be an awful lot of gesturing to sort through all the irregularly sized tiles.

And while I can see the usefulness of the Charms bar, whoever came up with the name should be expelled to the same seventh ring as those who came up with Me and Clippy.

bbo320 2 years ago

I don't see any reason to "upgrade" to Win 8. I like the Win 7 desktop. The Metro desktop looks like a throwback to WFWG 3.1 substituting icons for folders.

munk 2 years ago

> Metro, Microsoft's new UI, is bold, a dramatic departure
> from anything the company has previously done in the
> desktop/laptop space, and absolutely great.

Says who?

Do you know *anything* about usability?
Have you *ever* used (or just seen) Linux desktop?

One word: bullshit.
Microsoft is dead in the desktop market for years.

Joel H 2 years ago

Munk,

"Says who? Do you know *anything* about usability? Have you *ever* used (or just seen) Linux desktop? One word: bullshit. Microsoft is dead in the desktop market for years."

Two glaring flaws in your argument.

1) Linux's market share in laptop/desktop.

2) The Linux community's reaction to Unity.

rrplay 2 years ago

With all 9 different version of Win 8 scheduled why not listen to desktop users that want a total non Metro version, with some of the Win 8 features like the updated task manager, refresh, reset and a others and roll out a Service Pack for Win 7.being able to turn off the Metro [cr^p ] gui is one thing, not even having having it there on the install is another.

Plenty of choice out that work a heck of a lot better like Mint 11 and many other spins, that are much easier to navigate ,maintain ,and get things done.

realneil 2 years ago

[quote user="rrplay"]why not listen to desktop users that want a total non Metro version[/quote]

I agree, but I think that you're preaching to the choir here. Doesn't seem to be a lot of love for Metro around. Probably good on a Tablet PC like some have said, but my tablet already has IOS on it and works great. On a desktop, it would probably just be an exercise in frustration.

I also agree about Linux,....if more good shooters were ported to it, I'd leave Windows behind for good. It's only a matter of time before that happens, and then, just watch out.

Joel H 2 years ago

RealNeil,

You said: "I also agree about Linux,....if more good shooters were ported to it, I'd leave Windows behind for good. It's only a matter of time before that happens, and then, just watch out."

I'm genuinely curious as to why you think this. Linux's share of the desktop market has scarcely budged in years. The utilities that exist for providing cross-platform compatibility, like Wine, are in much better shape than they were 10 years ago, while the OSS utilities that provide equivalent functionality are equally improved -- yet as far as gaming is concerned, Linux ports remain a rare occurrence.

What is it that makes you think we're going to see greater support in the future -- or that greater support would matter? As a PC gamer myself, I can tell you that gaming is a barrier to me moving to Linux, but even if Linux supported PC gaming perfectly, I'd take Windows 7 64-bit over Linux any day. I'd only move to Linux if I literally couldn't stand whatever version of Windows was prominent *and* W7 was literally no longer supported by any current software.

That seems unlikely.

realneil 2 years ago

My Linux Mint and Zorin Linux are full featured OS's that are free. I can do just about anything I need to do with them. (even make them look just like Windows does)  Honestly, if I could game on them as well as I can on my Win-7 OS, I would use them instead of buying the latest flavor that MS needs us to want every few years. When you're retired and on a fixed income, ~free~ speaks much louder to you and sounds a lot sweeter too.

I like the security of these two Linux distributions and the fact that they just work without issue. I surf the web and those pesky exploits don't bother me. There are ports of some games on Linux now and people are working on more of them too. We'll see what the future holds for Linux gaming.If it works out, then fine. If not, I'll get over it too. Just like you, I still have my Win-7 to game with.

Linux is a viable OS for home use. I have it on two PC's now and they both are totally predictable. There is a lot of software available for them too. (also free)

Do I honestly think that Linux will surpass Windows in the gaming arena? (any arena?) Nope,.....but I'd love to see it happen. Do I see this whole Metro interface idea as a steaming turd? Yep!

The world is firmly rooted in MS software, we all realize this, but market share just doesn't matter to some of us.

gambit 2 years ago

realneil,

Linux is hardly a viable OS for home use. Not only I have printer issues with Linux, but a lot of the software I run is only available on Windows (To name a few: Adobe Photoshop Elements 10, SnagIt, PowerDirector 10 Ultra, and PowerArchiver 2012) and using Wine severely diminishes the performance any software that I use. The quality of the Linux software (including frees) are a joke compared to their Windows counterparts, especially the proprietary commercial ones. Not to mention that gaming support on Linux is abysmal and it is a poor platform for HTPC (Linux shot itself in the foot by not implementing HDCP support).

Linux is not without its uses (works great on servers), but for a box I use for both work purposes and entertainment, Linux just isn't a credible replacement and many Linux users, including zealots would agree with my sentiment.

realneil 2 years ago

Zorin OS Linux and Linux Mint are two distros that come very close to a windows experience for Linux newbies. Linux is not the answer for many people, but cramming Metro down our throats isn't either.

I really like Zorin and I installed it onto the 6 PCs that I donated to a local battered woman's shelter for their use.  (I formatted the drives and trashed the copy of XP that was on them first) They write resumes, search for new jobs, and try to contact relatives that can help them help themselves. They're very happy with them. I have Zorin installed onto one of my own PCs as well.

I have Win-7 installed on three PCs here and It does what I want it to, and I already own it. So I have to ask, what is Win-8 gonna bring to the table to make it worth my while to discontinue using the already owned copies of Win-7 (remember that they work great and without problems) and ~spend money~ to buy into an interface that I do not like?

Microsoft is suffering from an ~Anal-Cranial Inversion~ on this subject.

Pettovello 2 years ago

I have to agree with Gambit. I predominately use Windows in my office. In both cases MS Office, Adobe Creative Suite (video and print), video editing (Final Cut, Avid, Premiere), Quick Books, and other proprietary programs get used daily. None of the software I use is native to Linux and Wine is a poor substitute since I couldn't get them to perform the desired tasks. Even in my property tax consulting business OO.org and LibreOffice do not provide the ease of use and compatibility that I require. In the time that it would take to cobble together a Linux environment that almost does what I need, but that requires a great deal more of my time in maintaining, I will have expended far more in opportunity cost (a factor of at least 5) than I would have spent on name brand fully supported software for Windows and OSX.

Linux works great on servers, but on the desktop it simply is a hobbyist proposition. It doesn't save me a dime when opportunity costs are considered and the programs seem several generations behind. I really wanted to make LibreOffice work for me (I hate MS Ribbon), but it simply doesn't. I'm a user, not a techie.

That's what has been so frustrating to hear from Linux users when they assert that Linux offers everything that anyone would want. It's not true and it's never been true. But they keep banging the drum, raising expectations and setting a large segment of computers up for frustration and money loss. Linux users will disagree with me and that's OK. I'm glad that their choices work for them.

As for Windows 8, I have no intention of upgrading to it given my bad experience with Metro so I'll stick with Windows 7 until Microsoft release Windows 9 without Metro UI.

realneil 2 years ago

[quote user="Pettovello"]As for Windows 8, I have no intention of upgrading to it given my bad experience with Metro so I'll stick with Windows 7 until Microsoft release Windows 9 without Metro UI.[/quote]

Agreed.

thunderdan602 2 years ago

I'Klee stick with 64 bit Windows 7 Pro thank you very much.

fredclown 2 years ago

You are using it wrong if you are putting every app icon on the start screen. It is only for your most used apps. The system is optimized for search. Just start typing and it will show a list of apps that match what you are typing.

fredclown 2 years ago

You could clutter up your Windows 7 desktop as well by putting a gazillion icons on it, but I doubt you would agree that that would be the OS's fault.

realneil 2 years ago

[quote user="fredclown"]You could clutter up your Windows 7 desktop as well by putting a gazillion icons on it, but I doubt you would agree that that would be the OS's fault.[/quote]

No, if I were to do such a stupid thing it would be a matter of personal choice. My own choice,.....

Metro is an abitrary move by Microsoft that may not be user configurable. It remains to be seen.

 

JDiaz 2 years ago

No, the point is valid. Difference in UI doesn't mean you'll be forced to take it as is and never create any customizations. Even Android can be customized and that's just a limited mobile OS.

Windows 8 will be a desktop OS, Metro UI notwithstanding, it will customizable, theme-able, and will be capable of far more than any mobile OS is capable of doing.

Whether you choose to even bother with it is your choice but making judgements based on the lack of familiarity and what is still only a preview alpha version is not really giving it any real thought and dismissing it mostly out of hand.

 

It's akin to someone dismissing and disparaging Linux because they don't like the Unity UI.

Joel H 2 years ago

JDiaz,

The Community Preview isn't an alpha. Given W8's timeline relative to previous Windows versions, the Developer Preview from last fall would be an alpha / early beta release with the Community Preview defined as a late beta.

If MS drops a third version before actual launch, it would be a Release Candidate (even if they don't use that nomenclature). If they don't, than the CP is effectively an RC.

JDiaz 2 years ago

It's an Alpha, until they get to the release candidates then it's not yet in beta and there is still a lot they will still change.

 

Really, this release still has a lot of the developers code that won't be there when nearing final release and a preview is only a preview!

Joel H 2 years ago

Fredclown,

I didn't put those icons there. Windows did. Clearly you haven't installed the Consumer Preview, if you had, you'd know that current installers treat the Start Screen as if it were the Start Menu and load applications there by default.

I didn't change a single setting -- that's how the Start Screen populated when I started installing software. Please note that I only had 7-9 applications installed on the testbed, versus the several dozen on my typical system.

PCornett 2 years ago

you are full of crap.. installing programs drop all of these icons automatically. you dont have a choice.

JDiaz 2 years ago

You always have a choice, installing programs often puts icons on the traditional Windows desktop as well. Doesn't mean you can't customize after installation!

Meanwhile, this is still only a preview! Hundreds of changes are still pending!

Dave_HH 2 years ago

I certainly did love all the discussion on this one. It's great to see. And JDiaz, I think you touch on a point that we're trying to make by the very publication of Joel's article. Folks like us are hoping Microsoft takes note and implements changes to accommodate such things. For one, disabling Metro all together, at will, would be a great customization. I'd love it on my tablet, no way on my desktop.

JDiaz 2 years ago

Should probably update the article with the Keyboard shortcuts list for Windows 8 MS released, along with the add on 3rd party program that let's you put the Start Menu back in...

realneil 2 years ago

[quote user="JDiaz"]Should probably update the article with the Keyboard shortcuts list for Windows 8 MS released, along with the add on 3rd party program that let's you put the Start Menu back in...[/quote]

Using that third party hack to restore your Start Menu results in a unremovable warning message from Microsoft being displayed on your desktop. Win-8 detects it's use and posts the message when you boot the PC the next time.

 

JDiaz 2 years ago

It's an app, not a hack, perhaps you're thinking of something else?

Only issue with the app I've seen so far is the orb overlapping the Taskbar buttons but that can be worked around.

realneil 2 years ago

What is the source of this App? Does it have a traceable lineage? Is it approved? If so, then cool!

I tried three of those 'fixes' on my copy of 8 and all of them caused a message about copy-write infringement to be displayed on my desktop. Metro was gone, but I had company afterwards.

I formatted the HDD and reloaded 8 each time I tried another one of them too. I just got the latest 8 and it's doing the same thing.

I just hope that they listen to the public about this situation. If they don't then I'll stick with 7 and not be too upset about it either. 7 works fine by me.

JDiaz 2 years ago

I believe Stardock is releasing the app in question.

Mind that previews and even beta releases OS can still be buggy before final release version and even then we may have to wait till SP release for relatively bug free experience.

AKwyn 2 years ago

If Metro isn't all that's cracked up to be I may be sticking with Windows 7.

FloydF 2 years ago

Looks like they stopped chasing Apple OS and went straight to IPad OS. This also seems to be similar to the direction Windows moble took in becomming a social networking toy rather than a business tool. I expect Business will stay with Windows 7, like they did with XP because everything between XP and 7 were total crap for business users.

Metro may work fine for the people who only use Social networking, e-mail and surfing, but not for business or power users. MS needs to stop chasing Apple users and stick with the rest of the world, or they will drive even more to Linux. I know they certainlr are pushing me closer to Linux.

I'm still so frustrated I can't get rid of multiple tablet services running on my notebook that can;t be removed, just like the accessability garbage and useless drivers and on and on....

I so need to learn Linux....

Joel H 2 years ago

FloydF, 

 

Typically such services and programs can be removed, though you may have to do a bit of Googling to find out how. Services can be manually turned off in Administrative controls; programs can typically be uninstalled if you Google the program name + "uninstall." 

If you bought an OEM system and want to use a fresh copy of whatever OS you have, there are ways to get yourself an ISO image of the OS in question. Technically, you're only licensed to use whatever version of the operating system came with your machine -- but, then, the extraneous applications aren't actually part of the OS you licensed .I'm not aware of any court case that decides the issue one way or another, but the option exists.

AKwyn 2 years ago

I know that I haven't been complaining about this as much as I should but what is there to complain about. If you're using a tablet, use metro but if you're using a desktop then it's another story. Personally I have not used metro at all to have an opinion on it but my opinion is this; there is a lot of hate towards metro because Micro$oft is forcing people to use it right, therefore there should be an option at setup to use the desktop or the metro interface, it solves alot of problems. Arguably Microsoft has an interface and they're trying to get desktop people to use it, I mean sure; I've seen people use Media Center on the desktop on like it but this is a UI on a system that you're going to be using full time, it's different. You can't do alot of the stuff you can on a Windows desktop and you certainly can't expect yourself to use it properly in a college environment; there is just alot of things hindering Metro for that purpose. While it's certain that Microsoft is targeting the tablet market, they're slowly forgetting about the computer market, the market that matters; all could be resolved by implementing a simple idea.

JDiaz 2 years ago

The desktop mode is I'd suggest indicative that MS isn't necessarily forcing anyone to use Metro. It's just something they are showcasing at this point because that's the big change and something important for how they will start competing in the mobile market.

Though it remains to be seen if they will be able to provide the range of customization to keep Metro completely out if people prefer to stick to traditional desktop but it should be remembered this is only a preview version and the final version can still be very different.

While the suggestion of desktop for desktop is not new and was one of the things Windows 8 is suppose to be able to do when they're finished is to customize the defaults to the type of device it is installed on. The multiple versions being suggested for final release help support that idea will be something they will seriously consider implementing.

Though MS is considering future systems we buy into will include other things like Kinect, which could make the Metro UI more useful for desktop as well as mobile usage even without a touch screen.

A lot is still speculation at this point though and one of the reason they even bother with previews and release candidates is to get feedback and make changes if really needed. So let's neither assume this will be exactly like the final version or that MS won't consider making any changes along the way to make it better.

realneil 2 years ago

[quote user="JDiaz"]So let's neither assume this will be exactly like the final version or that MS won't consider making any changes along the way to make it better.[/quote]

At this point I'm not assuming anything. I know what I like and I already have it here, so I'm in the position of pleasing myself and staying with Win-7 or migrating to Win-8, ~if~ I'm OK with the final version.

 I can see that this matters to you and I'm keeping an open mind from now on,....and I'm waiting to see what it will be like when it's all done. I am happy that I have a choice in this matter. That's cool.

digitaldd 2 years ago

I found a great article on PCMag's Forward Thinking blog on Living with the Windows 8 Consumer Preview

While I don't have it on my main box I am going to continue to use it.

Metalmania31 2 years ago

You all realize you can just turn metro off with 3rd party tools. There is probably some regedit you can do too to turn Metro off. Once you do that it's pretty much Win7 underneath.

digitaldd 2 years ago

[quote user="Metalmania31"]

You all realize you can just turn metro off with 3rd party tools. There is probably some regedit you can do too to turn Metro off. Once you do that it's pretty much Win7 underneath.

[/quote]

 

Many of us work in tech support where using those 3rd party tools will not be allowed so why not get used to it? there is also a regedit to get it to go through to the regular desktop and skip the metro at login.

 

NAzure 2 years ago

When it comes to tablets and phones, Metro looks like it will do pretty well. Obviously there are still kinks to work out but for those devices, they're on the right track. However, with a multi-display desktop computer using a mouse and keyboard, Metro offers nothing except a massive waste of screen real estate and a major disruption in workflow. I use a keyboard and mouse to get stuff done, and my needs are completely met by these mainstays (and then some). A touchscreen interface won't do me any good at all as none of my applications use them - and indeed, they're better off NOT using it (who in their right mind wants to code using a touchscreen keyboard?). Even if I had the disposable income to replace my perfectly good existing monitors with touchscreen versions, it'd essentially be a purchase just to utilize Metro - and thus a purchase I could never justify. The interface clashes horribly with the traditional desktop environment - using it feels like I'm switching between two very different operating systems on-the-fly, both functionally and visually. My workspace is set up with my needs in mind - having to configure two separate workspaces (one for Metro, one for Desktop) and then get them to play nice with each other is a lot of extra work that I don't want to do - and that's just so I can resume normal functionality! And, as the author noted, installing traditional windowed applications quickly mucks up the aesthetics. With my programs, Metro quickly turned into a jumbled, ugly mess that completely eradicated the aesthetic Microsoft was aiming for - and for no good reason. If Microsoft wants to keep me as a customer, they will need to provide a means of disabling Metro. Installing a third-party start menu replacement like ViStart grates on my nerves a little bit, but it's tolerable, as long as I never see Metro on my desktop.

Bottom line - if Metro isn't optional, then for me, neither is Windows 8. If sometime down the line some crucial Metro app emerges that doesn't have any way of running in a normal windowed environment, I'll be running it virtually in Windows 7 or Debian. I guess we should all be grateful that 7 will be supported until 2020...

RBernstein1 2 years ago

Actually, there isn't a real problem, provided that Microsoft allowed either Metro Start OR Windows Start navigation.

A touch screen keybordless user would choose the metro interface because it suits their device and method of working.

A desktop user, with screen and keyboard, would choose a drop down menu solution in place of endless right scroll.

Both would be happy and Windows 8 would succeed in its aim of providing a single OS across the board.

Of course, were Microsoft to force the inappropriate methodology across the board, one or other of the user groups will not use it.

All it takes is for Microsoft to either include a drop down menu or to allow the use of either interface by user choice. Not rocket science.

In the early days Microsoft spent very large amounts on testing usability in the field. They had labs where a user's every move was videoed and analysed before a decision about implementation was adopted. I seriously wonder whether the same research has been done for Windows 8.

GeorgeMihael one year ago

Windows 8 looks like a hybrid OS. Windows 8 probably is the first hybrid operating system. It's an operating system that can be used both as a desktop os allowing you do do serious things like work, 3D games, simulators and as a mobile os allowing you to access simple apps using a small screen. If you have a powerful tablet with windows 8 on it you can use it on the go with the metro interface which is optimized for touchscreens, and when you want something more you can hook the tablet to a big screen, plug a mouse and keyboard and use it as a desktop.

Post a Comment
or Register to comment