OCZ RevoDrive 3 X2 PCIe SSD Performance Preview

Article Index:   
If you've been reading the pages of HotHardware for any length of time, you've probably noticed that we have an affinity for just about anything SSD related.  As performance enthusiasts at heart, it's no wonder why we're keenly focused on the market segment, but even so, there are standout products that tend to pique our interest more than others.  And in the burgeoning SSD market, there's nothing more interesting than PCI Express based SSDs.

In recent months we've covered PCI Express-based SSDs from virtually all the major players, from Fusion-io to, OCZ and LSI. The last time we took a look at OCZ's offering, the RevoDrive X2 took to the test bench and with its MLC-based design, offered much of the performance of significantly more expensive SLC-based PCI Express SSDs, but at a fraction of the cost. Today the third coming of the RevoDrive from OCZ is upon us, with all new technology on board, from its Flash controllers to the RAID processor.  With read/write specs that will make you drool, the RevoDrive 3 X2 is here and if it lives up to its specifications on paper, we think you're going to want to stick around for the intimate details on the pages that follow.


OCZ RevoDrive 3 X2 480GB PCI Express SSD
Specifications & Features
Max Read: up to 1500MB/s
Max Write: up to 1250MB/s
Random Write 4KB: (4K Align,QD64,8GB LBA): 200,000 IOPS
Seek Time: 0.1ms
Interface:  PCIe 2.0 x4
Power Consumption:  Idle 3W, Active 8W
Operating Temp: 0°C ~ 70°C
Storage Temp: -45°C ~ +85°C
Shock Resistant up to 1500G
SuperScale Processor with VCA 2.0
Included 3.5" Desktop adapter bracket
Compatible with XP, Vista, 7, and Linux (32 and 64-bit)
MTBF: 2 million hours
3-Year Warranty

OCZ's RevoDrive 3 X2 will be available at the following capacities and price points:
RevoDrive 3 240G @ $699.99
RevoDrive 3 X2 480G @ $1699.99
RevoDrive 3 X2 960G @ $3199.99

OCZ's RevoDrive series is their "prosumer" targeted product-line, based on MLC NAND Flash, and with price points that are much more in line with traditional high-end SATA-based solid state drives.  At $699 for the 240GB variant, the RevoDrive 3 X2 drops in at under $3 per GB of storage. 

Update, 6/28 6:05PM
- Bear in mind that the 240GB variant of the RevoDrive 3 is not actually an "X2" model but rather a single PCB with two SandForce controllers on board, versus four on the X2 version.  This will leave you with theoretically half of the available read/write bandwidth. 

The higher densities are a bit more expensive, with the 480GB and 960GB versions weighing in at $3.53 and $3.33 per GB, respectively.  On average, that's about a $1 per GB premium over the average SATA III (6Gbps) SSD.  However, with max read throughput of 1.5GB/sec and max writes at 1.2GB/sec, OCZ is claiming to offer a theoretical 3X performance boost over the fastest standard SATA products on the market right now.
 

Image gallery

Related content

Comments

Comments
acarzt 3 years ago

That thing is a beast!

It would take 3 Vertex 3s to match the speeds of this 1 drive. Sounds like a pretty good deal to me!

My question is... is there a way to RAID these things yet? lol

LBowen 3 years ago

That is some crazy fast performance on the RevoDrive 3. I'm fairly impressed but like was mentioned they need to work out the 64-bit performance issues; I will certainly consider getting my first SSD from OCZ, definitely one of the lesser priced options though.  Thanks for the review Dave.

infinityzen1 3 years ago

I know what I'm upgrading my desktop to now. Well, I'll make sure they have the 64-bit drivers fixed so I can boot fine.

jonation 3 years ago

wow. that. is. fast. great review dave.

Dave_HH 3 years ago

Thanks all! Glad you enjoyed it.

ThunderBird 3 years ago

OCZ IMO is a leader in the SSD space.

The Hard Drive is the biggest bottleneck in today's machines.

I would love to have a simple SSD I could only imagine this bad boy!

omegadraco 3 years ago

Freaking amazing... Agreed on the 64-bit issue though, that is going to make it a tough sell for servers since just about all of them now at 64-bit and even home machines are going that route.

Dave_HH 3 years ago

The 64-bit driver issue is temporary and I'm hearing revised final product will be shipping in the next week or two.

EHarler 3 years ago

Amazing. Can't wait for these technologies to drop price.

OptimusPrimeTime 3 years ago

"I honestly thought that we would have to wait at least Q2-Q3 2012 for a PCI Express SSD of this caliber to be priced so affordable (240GB) yet so fast, amazing . I see that it still has the power stand by bug, but OCZ will worked that out, which is why this article is still tagged as a Preview."

"Off course, the suggested retail price is $699, but knowing OCZ and Newegg, I expect $649 (240GB) when it debuts, and maybe $500 to $549 around the holidays."

-Optimus

AKwyn 3 years ago

Woah! Now those are amazing speeds. OCZ has made themselves a preemo SSD here and the price is certainly reasonable enough.

It does feel like SSD's have been around a long time and therefore the prices would be lower but then again, there isn't a mass avaliability of SSD's (except in Best Buy stores everywhere) so the prices are still reasonable, for now.

rrplay 3 years ago

These speed are just crazy fast and the comparisons on the tests really give a great reference to compare.It seems to me that a whole new generation of computing experience is evolving at such a blistering rate and what i think Dave refereed to in a vidcast about being a generation away from 'blowing some doors off or something like is just a little hop and skip away [cpu/gpu].

these major changes need drives that perform like this.>>.this is big-time performance.

and surely  not to be a  problem with 64 bit drivers when these guys are out retail.

thanks

inspector 3 years ago

Nice specs and review guys! I don't know if all these articles are doing me any good. it just makes me want to buy them... :( lol

realneil 3 years ago

Great review,......again, I suggest that one or two be given away in one of the sweet HH giveaway PC's! Heh-Heh!

 

Wait, did you hear that sound? that was the budget screaming!

RageFury100 3 years ago

Will the 240GB variant have the same performance, or will it be about half? The price point suggests it'll have approximately the same performance, but verification would be nice. If it has the same performance @ $700, I'm buying one.

rapid1 3 years ago

I want to win a contest where a REVO drive3 is part of the contest even if it is just a REVO drive3 and nothing else.

coolice 3 years ago

God damn, thats some impressive piece of Sillicon Haven right here. Good review, enjoyed reading this, and these PCI-e ssd's/memory is still soemthing new to me.

Dont know much about ssd's in general either, learnt a few new things

albatorsk 3 years ago

Hi! Your compatibility list is wrong. It does not work with Linux. No drivers available.

abevoelker 3 years ago

Yes, please take Linux off of your compatibility list. OCZ has said they are not planning to write drivers for it: http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/showthread.php?91847-Linux-driver-for-RevoDrive-3&p=661394&viewfull=1#post661394

I think that's a pretty boneheaded move.

Post a Comment
or Register to comment