Which brand of router do you own?

rated by 0 users
This post has 6 Replies | 1 Follower

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 309
Points 2,990
JOMA Posted: Thu, Sep 6 2012 8:14 PM
Current have a DLink, was considering one of the newer ASUS routers.
  • | Post Points: 35
Top 25 Contributor
Posts 3,416
Points 46,585
ForumsAdministrator

I've been using a TrendNet TEW-639GR router now for about 3 years and it has served me well. It is located in the upstairs bedroom on the south side of my apartment, and the signal strength is very good downstairs on the north side of the apartment. There are 16 wireless networks within range of my laptop, but still there is no interference whatsoever. I would definitely recommend TrendNet. Congrats on scoring that HotHardware Corsair gaming system, JOMA!Yes

SPAM-posters beware! ®

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 6
Points 60
goldone replied on Fri, Sep 7 2012 2:56 AM

I've been using the same router (TrendNet TEW-639GR). It's been ok, however I live in a really old house with brick walls and have a lot of trouble with weak signal about 50 - 100 feet from the router.

I just received a ASUS RT-N56u that I ordered, so we'll see how well this one does.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 25 Contributor
Posts 3,416
Points 46,585
ForumsAdministrator

goldone:
however I live in a really old house with brick walls and have a lot of trouble with weak signal about 50 - 100 feet from the router.

I suppose that I'm fortunate my apartment has wall boarding! I've heard that the metal lath in older lath-and-plaster walls can really hinder a wireless signal, too. Post back after you install your new Asus router and let me know how it works versus your TrendNet router!

SPAM-posters beware! ®

• | Post Points: 5
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 309
Points 2,990
JOMA replied on Fri, Sep 7 2012 8:02 AM

i'd be curious to hear about your experience with the ASUS router. That is one of the units I was considering.

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 8,439
Points 102,180