Caution

This post has 9 Replies | 3 Followers

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 8,686
Points 104,335
MembershipAdministrator
realneil Posted: Thu, Dec 15 2011 11:01 PM
Caution about drinking and driving this Christmas,...

I would like to share an experience with you all, about drinking and driving. As you well know, some of us have been known to have had brushes with the authorities on our way home from the odd social session over the years.

A couple of nights ago, I was out for a few drinks with some friends, and had a few too many beers and some rather nice Merlot. Knowing full well I may have been slightly over the limit, I did something I've never done before.... I took a bus home.

I arrived home safely and without incident,..........................

which was a real surprise, as I have never driven a bus before, and I'm not sure where I got this one.

Dogs are great judges of character, and if your dog doesn't like somebody being around, you shouldn't trust them.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,865
Points 29,645

Good idea :) me and my wife alternate who might drink... Usually I let her because I am not much of a drinker. One of us is always completely sober to drive. I have seen too many friends lose people to drunk driving... The sad thing is most of the time the people who die are not the people who are intoxicated.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Posts 8,686
Points 104,335
MembershipAdministrator
realneil replied on Fri, Dec 16 2011 8:32 PM

omegadraco:
The sad thing is most of the time the people who die are not the people who are intoxicated.

This is one of my pet peeves. Lost friends and family this way too many times. All for no good reason.

It's a serious problem that I always try to rectify when I see it happen. So if somebody is drunk and I see them driving, and it shows, I'll turn their azzes in right now. I have no pity for them.

My Son In Law patrols in my County and he holds the local record for drunk Driving arrests.