Buying a budget gaming PC

rated by 0 users
This post has 41 Replies | 3 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 134
Points 1,975
Resin Posted: Tue, Dec 7 2010 1:58 PM

assuming I don't win the awesome giveaway,

I still need to get a new computer, I haven't upgraded in about a decade or so, so yeah its really time, I've been rocking this sweet Dell Dimension 8200 for far too many years.Stick out tongue

I'm on an extremely tight budget however, $700 - $1000 something like that. 

I have no intrest in Crysis or CoD, I would like to be able to play games like Dragon Age 2, Mortal Online, Mount & Blade warband, or the new version of Dear Esther (which I think is just built on the source engine, although it looks nothing like it)

I would love to work on mods, be able to run GIMP, Blender, Unity..not the super high level stuff but requiring some power; I haven't actually done much of this in the past but I think it is something I would enjoy

I would also like a really nice looking case, although this might just be a personal hang up I need to let go of considering my price range - I love the look of the corsair 700 ( the  black brushed aluminum and minimalist subdued profile) although it is way too big for me, everytime I try to find a case of similar aesthetic quality I find something like the  Silverstone tjo2. Also very big and very expensive, nice case I'm sure. I wonder if the Antec 300 would suit my needs, but haven't really seen it much on custom order computer configurators. I have a very dusty place with dangerous little ones prone to accidents of all sorts around, so the notion of an enclosed protected case really appeals to me.

I don't quite have the confidence and time to build my own rig. I think I would know how to do it, but if I got stuck or bought the wrong thing, would drive me crazy. I really like the idea of customer support and good warranties.