What is Intel64 Technology?

rated by 0 users
This post has 12 Replies | 1 Follower

Not Ranked
Posts 32
Points 625
TheChief Posted: Mon, Feb 1 2010 10:34 PM

Hello, I know that this question sounds kind of ignorant at first but with the age of my CPU I didnt belive it could support 64-bit. I have a Intel P4 650 3.4ghz processor (I know its quite old but spare me all that nonsence) and I recently noticed on Intel's website that it has a feature called Intel® 64(link below with all the deatails).

CPU Info page : http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=27482

Lately I have been looking at Windows 7 and I was wondering if this means that this chip would support a 64-bit OS. Since I am new to 64-bit technology I do not have much knowledge but from my basic understanding it is possible to use a 64-bit OS. Any clarification would be appreciated.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 200 Contributor
Posts 457
Points 5,945
Soupstyle replied on Mon, Feb 1 2010 11:33 PM

According to the intel site, yes that chip does support x64 processing (and therefore a 64 bit OS).

• | Post Points: 5
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,964
Points 25,705

Yep, as Soupstyle stated, you're good to go! All Intel's P4 6xx series support 64-bit.

Here's a link to an article on the Intel 64 (also known as EM64T): http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/262

Since you'll be installing Windows 7 on this, check the rest of the 64-bit requirements:

• 1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor

• 1 gigabyte (GB) RAM (32-bit) or 2 GB RAM (64-bit)

• 16 GB available hard disk space (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)

• DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver

Here's a tool you can use to check to see if your system is Vista ready: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=1b544e90-7659-4bd9-9e51-2497c146af15&displaylang=en

It'll tell you which components have drivers that Windows 7 supports.

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 32
Points 625