heres an intresting idea.

rated by 0 users
This post has 10 Replies | 4 Followers

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,370
Points 20,925
ice_73 Posted: Wed, Oct 15 2008 12:28 AM

would it be possible to have a closed loop of ln2 with some hard core compressor? (obviously i cant do this since i have no money nor knowledge, but im intrested to know if it would actually work)

• | Post Points: 20
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,218
Points 18,720
warlord replied on Wed, Oct 15 2008 12:46 AM

ice_73:

would it be possible to have a closed loop of ln2 with some hard core compressor? (obviously i cant do this since i have no money nor knowledge, but im intrested to know if it would actually work)

There was a discussion of this here

The general consences was no since ln2 must have a phase change directly to have any convection. Meaning without oxygen there is no transfer.

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,370
Points 20,925
ice_73 replied on Wed, Oct 15 2008 12:52 AM

yeah, they also have another thread here http://www.overclock.net/cooling-experiments/13663-automatic-refilling-ln2-cooler.html

which states you could, make a semi- closed 

and another discussion of the idea further here http://www.overclock.net/cooling-experiments/47538-closed-loop-liquid-nitrogen-cooling-3.html

however alot of these forums go against each other one thread tells us you can, another tells us you cant. and i dont know enough to sperate the stupid people from the people who actually know what they are doing and what they are talking about. obviously at least a semi-closed loop is possible, but i think a full close one should be possible with a good compressor.

better yet, how about a solid nitrogen cooler O_O think of the overclocks!  

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,218
Points 18,720
warlord replied on Wed, Oct 15 2008 1:34 AM

ice_73:

yeah, they also have another thread here http://www.overclock.net/cooling-experiments/13663-automatic-refilling-ln2-cooler.html