Just a word about customer support

rated by 0 users
This post has 5 Replies | 2 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 250
Points 4,510
nECrO1967 Posted: Tue, Jul 29 2008 6:54 PM

I have been fooling with hardware for 20 years. I have seen the good the bad and the very ugly in support. Recently, I lost the screws to re-attach my monitor to it's stand. I called Acer to see about buying replacements and they could not find a SKU for screws so they sent me a whole new stand and mounting bracket. Free. Thats right free. Bad part is when it got here. No screws. Doh! I called support back and they were at a loss. So the sent EVERY part to build a monitor except the panel itself. Every single part including another new stand. Still no screws! Double doh! I did find screws that would work at a local TV shop so I don't need them anymore. Despite the fact that I never got the screws, that is the best service I have ever gotten. It was a hard request it seems but they went far beyond the call of duty to help. And btw, my monitor is no longer even under warranty.  I never paid a dime for any of it. Not even shipping. Now thats good customer service.

I just thought I would share that because as consumers we have to all stick together so the good prosper and the bad go out of business.

I used to carry a hammer in my computer tool kit. Just for fixing the packard Bells though.......

• | Post Points: 20
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 862
Points 10,995
RyuGTX replied on Tue, Jul 29 2008 7:52 PM

What are you going to do with all the spare parts? Maybe you can buy a panel from Acer and get a 2nd monitor for cheap since they gave you the rest of the parts for free and you wouldn't have to pay them for labor.

If you think you can’t do something, you’ll never be able to do it. No matter how easy it is.
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 3,017
Points 43,210

Thats pretty cool. Good to hear stuff like this as it might weigh on a decision next time I buy a monitor

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 250