hp psc 750 all-in-one scanner problem

rated by 0 users
This post has 5 Replies | 0 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 60
jgv_007 Posted: Sat, Dec 6 2003 11:04 PM
I know nothing about computers, what bothers me is that my HP scanner worked fine until two weeks ago. I have not added any new hardware or software since it last worked correctly. Now, when I try to scan, I get this message, "scanner could not be initialized. " (scanner not found). What's really strange is that this is an "all in one" machine. I can still copy & print, but no longer can I scan. I would appreciate some help on this problem & I have already gone to the HP site to see if I could get some answers & did not find anything that addressed my individual problem & I would have to pay $25.00 to get tech help from the HP site. I'm not technically minded, so I would need help in as simple a way as possible.
  • | Post Points: 50
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 973
Points 10,040
bibite replied on Sat, Dec 6 2003 11:57 PM
When you say you can still copy and print, are you using the computer to do this? Are you putting a page in the scanner, and pushing the 'start scan' button on the printer, which just makes you a photocopy, or do you mean that you can still print a document that is on your computer?

This all in one fax/photocopier/printer can also be used as a stand alone device, without being connected to a computer. If you can photocopy pages but can't print documents or scan documents into your computer, this could be a sign that the USB connector may have come loose either on your computer, or on the printer itself.
  • | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 60
jgv_007 replied on Sun, Dec 7 2003 12:46 PM