Lenovo vs Mac vs any other

rated by 0 users
This post has 4 Replies | 2 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 20
cluelessrebel Posted: Sun, Feb 3 2013 2:01 AM

So I am looking for a new computer. My dell which is around 2 years old has finally outlasted warranty and has been constantly repaired since I bought it in 2011. From wifi issues (it has never been able to connect to wifi unless its right next to the router) to constantly freezing, there is always something wrong with it. My family and I have always had dell, so this is foreign territory to me.

I am a college student and have $2500 to spend (thanks to a college fund) but I do not want to spend it all if I do not need to.

I need:

the software to be at least compatible with word and power point if not have it on their system,
I game on my computer and need it to be compatible with Skyrim, Dragon Age, and Dragon Age 2,
I stream and watch a lot of Netflix so its wireless must be fast,
it must be durable,I drop my computer a lot,
it must be reliable, this is the big one, I do not want to have to fight with customer service for 2 years again, that was ridiculous.

Currently I have been recommended the Mac Book Pro and a Lenovo Think or IdeaPad, but I can't decide. I am not limited on these either, I just want a good computer that isn't Dell.

Macs: everyone raves about them, they're supposed to be God sent. But they're hugely expensive and are not always compatible from my experience with IPods, IPhones, and IPads (I have owned all three) and from what I've heard people say. I also do not believe they are virus proof as everyone believes (there's just less viruses written for OS). It also has a lot of stuff I don't need and the stuff I really need/want (gaming tech mostly) I'd have to buy extra. They also don't have fans built in and I have had experience frying a hard drive (do not want to do that again).