First Gaming Computer Build

rated by 0 users
This post has 15 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 21
Points 360
cranow12 Posted: Tue, Nov 27 2012 9:01 PM

Hello,

I have a $600-$800 budget. My current gaming laptop just died on me and wont start back up, therefore i am building my own desktop.

I am new to this and i don't fully know what I'm doing yet, so i was hoping for your help. I was thinking maybe going with Intel Motherboard and Intel Processor. I was also thinking of going with the Corsair Obsidian Series 650D case. Unless you have any other suggestions. I'm not worried about a surround sound, keyboard, mouse, monitor, etc. I need a computer that can run World of Warcraft, Call of Duty, Battlefield, League of Legends, etc.

Thank you.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 150 Contributor
Posts 756
Points 7,645
Dorkstar replied on Wed, Nov 28 2012 4:52 PM

It sounds like you may have a few things laying around that you can use.  On a budget of $600, you're going to be squeezing every penny out of that if you plan on playing something like Battlefield.

I don't think hothardware has a like article, so I'll send you where I typically go for information.  (Someone correct me if I'm wrong)

Head over to Tom's Hardware and check out their charts for GPU's and CPU's.  There you can get an idea of what you want/need. 

CPU's based on 3dMark11 overall score :  http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/cpu-charts-2012/-04-3DMark11,3157.html 

Keep in mind if you're looking at a decent mid-grade cpu.  You're talking $150 for the CPU, Case $179 for the 650d, Motherboard $150, $50 for RAM, $100 for a PSU.

So were already at $629, and haven't gotten a GPU, any sort of media drives.

While I'll completely believe in a budget build, I also believe in buying good quality items that will last you through a few builds.  Don't go cheap on your Case, and don't go cheap on your power supply.  Everything else will simply be replaced within 3-5 years, so do what you will with that.