No display. At a loss.

rated by 0 users
This post has 9 Replies | 3 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 158
Points 3,050
krikle Posted: Wed, Feb 29 2012 12:38 PM

I'm at a bit of a loss but I think its just something dumb. This PC was working fine, booted normally just needed to be reformatted because it was super slow and a lot of junk. It's an older system so I suggested a memory ugrade.

It was working fine when I shut it down. A few days later, Before i turn it on...I add the new memory ad take the old stick out. Now when I turn it on I can't get ay display. It seems to me as if the system is booting. When I hit the reset button, the LED on the dvd drive blinks as per normal and the system stays on. I just can't get any display. The RAM inside was 256MB DDR400, 184 pin. I took that out and put in 2 1GB sticks of DDR400. Same type just an upgrade, more memory. 

I'm a computer tech and I've fixed hundreds of PC's but once in awhile I get stumped. I took out the NEW memory and put the old stuff back in, still nothing. The monitor and all that works fine. It's connected to a KVM switch and I have other machines connected to it and when I hit the buttom, it switches fine so I know it isn't the monitor. I swapped out the PSU and HD so that isn't the problem. I even took out the battery on the mobo for 30 or 40 seconds. I double checked all connections.  The CPU is an AMD sempron. As long as the memory is the same type and the mobo can support it, it shouldn't mtter what brand name it is. But for what its worth its actually supposed to work with AMD CPU.s On the tag of the new ram is says: "AMD1400-2GK-R"     But I've upgraded AMD and Intel based machines using just 'normal' memory...corsair, kingston, etc. I don't really think that makes a difference. Besides that, as I said, I put the old stuff back on and still nothing

Is it possible when I removed the RAM I somehow damaged the slots? I've installed memory a bunch of times...

• | Post Points: 20