New build. First time building. Feedback appreciated!

rated by 0 users
This post has 24 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 9
Points 240
ASundgren Posted: Sat, Aug 6 2011 7:54 PM

Hey!

I've put together some components that I think will work quite nicely, but I would really like some feedback. And as this is my first time actually building the setup myself, any tips would be very welcome.

I already got the following parts which I don't plan on changing:

Chassi: NZXT Phantom White

PSU: Zalman 1000-HP - 1000w (http://www.zalman.com/ENG/product/Pr...ad.asp?idx=282)

HDD's: 2x WD Caviar Black 500GB, 1x WD Caviar Green 2TB.

Optical: Samsung DVD burner

So to the new stuff. Since I live in Sweden, I'm posting my list of components from a Swedish retailer, but the name of the components are the same.

http://www.komplett.se/k/shoplist.aspx?mode=receive&si=958869&su=BD119113-07D3-4296-B368-123DD1761E0D

Typing them below for convience.

Processor: Intel i7 2600K

CPU-cooler: Antec Kuhler H2O 620

Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe

Memory: Corsair Vengeance™ DDR3 1600MHz 16GB CL9

SSD: Crucial m4 SSD 2,5" 256GB

Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX 590

I'd appreciate any feedback I can get!

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,372
Points 30,960
rrplay replied on Sun, Aug 7 2011 5:22 AM

Hi and welcome

looks pretty solid so far with the hardware you have already selected ,>>just wanted to comment on the choice of the Antec 620 cpu cooler that you selected.

I have this cooler it works really well and is very quiet

the pre-applied thermal paste is ShinEtsu X23-7868-2D. which  is very very good .

you may want to look into the Cooler Master Hyper 612 PWM CPU Cooler which will likely out perform the 620 and is also very quiet with the PWM fans esp with an OC !  >> about 49.00 US retail & the install is  breeze.

http://www.coolermaster-usa.com/product.php?product_id=3049