Need advice on Liquid cooling Dual CPU *Newbie*

rated by 0 users
This post has 14 Replies | 4 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 104
Points 865
M-ManLA Posted: Mon, Mar 21 2011 4:37 PM

Hi. I'm a newb when it comes to water cooling. I need some pointers on liquid cooling (if I do decide to go with liquid cooling), and really didn't see anything that completely answers my question. I don't really overclock, but I have been interested in the "silence" factor as I record stuff in my room, and my requirements may be a little wild, but this is what I am thinking;

I'm planning a Dual Intel Xeon 1366 Workstation build, and I have been deciding on two cases, but I am most likely to go with a Rackmount case, to clean up the clutter a little bit. The Chenbro case however has only one place for one 12cm fan. I now found a Norco Case that has two 12cm fans upfront, five 8cm fans in the middle, and two 8cm fans for the exaust. It will also be more flexible, giving me more options, and have a tooless hard drive bay. I know this may give me less space also, but it seems like it is managable.

I'm not completely sure of everything I need. I believe the CPU block, radiator, fan, pump, fittings, coolant, and tubes.

I see some items say that they have a 1/4" fitting, but I they say you can install a 1/2" tube to it. Is there any benefit going from 1/4" to 1/2"?

I heard of quick connectors from Koolance. Does those work as advertised.

Water cooling could be overkill for me, but I know that for the Xeon chips, there isn't a lot of options, and I heard some of the small fans can be loud, and bigger fans can block components, especially when going with two CPUs and gobs of RAM. If there is any suggestions let me know. Thank you for your time .

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 3,102
Points 38,250
acarzt replied on Tue, Mar 22 2011 1:19 PM

First of all... why do you need 2 Xeons? Or even 1? Why not go with a Core i7 chip?