Need of short tutorial about Water / Liquid Cooling

rated by 0 users
This post has 8 Replies | 2 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 163
Points 2,240
Kyouya Posted: Mon, Jul 5 2010 11:14 PM

When it comes to water or liquid cooling, I know nothing. All I knew about water cooling was that it requires a lot of maintenance and cost. Other than that, I am a complete noob.

However, I've been noticing companies trying to promote water or liquid cooling to the mainstream. I saw this a couple of months back...

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5267687&Sku=C13-2528

I've read reviews about this product which is mostly positive. I've seen how it is also installed. Am I miss something here? I thought water coolers were suppose to big, possibly noisy and requires a lot of filtration for the water.

I bring this up now because with the new core i7 chips coming out at the end of the year, I would like to learn what type of cooling is the most quiet and effective. Also, how much of an advantage does it bring to a regular heatsink?

A short tutorial would be great.

• | Post Points: 50
Top 10 Contributor
Posts 6,372
Points 80,290

Its great, systems like that are ok but for the price air can do much better. now custom setups are great but they are 300 min. you can make your computer run virtually silent 

"Never trust a computer you can't throw out a window."

Z77 GIGABYTE G1.SNIPER

GIGABYTE GTX670

G.Skill Ripjaws X 16gb PC2133

Antec P280

Corsair H100

Asus Blu-ray burner

Seasonic X650 PSU

Patriot Pyro 128gb SSD

• | Post Points: 5
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 3,236
Points 37,910
AKwyn replied on Tue, Jul 6 2010 1:49 AM

I studied a lot about water cooling because of my newfound desire to create a custom PC. A 10K PC but a PC nonetheless. Anyways, here is some of the stuff that I know.