AMD Based Gaming!

rated by 0 users
This post has 9 Replies | 1 Follower

Not Ranked
Posts 30
Points 645
wallacemanengine Posted: Sun, Feb 28 2010 11:45 PM

A Forum Deticated to dissapointed AMD Fans looking for a Laptop Worthy of Gaming

Not Ranked
Posts 30
Points 645

For years, I have been following both AMD and Intel technologies. Now days, Intel definetly leads in power in the notebook/mobile industry with their i7 quad core set of processors. However, AMD excels in Battery Life, Practicality, and price. I am a pre-college student who is looking for a cheap AMD based mobile notebook computer also worthy of the occational game night.

Currently, a Turion X2 at 2.0 GHz of higher, combined with a 2GB 1066 MHz Clocked set of memory (Speed more important than amount as long as 2GB or more), and a MODERN ATI 512MB Graphics card with a clock speed of about 600MHz, along with all the other neccesities for a decent laptop, will get you enough power to play Call Of Duty, Modern Warfare on native resolution with a frame rate of 20-24 FPS. This is what I consider Good Enough for my taste so that I will keep the price low.

The only problem with what I wrote above is the fact that the only company I have found that sells the above configuration for under $800 is HP (And I have gone to hundreds of websites), and there your options are very limited. Sure other companies will do it, but at the expence of using a custom configuration to do it, costing more money. For example, iBuyPower will sell this configuration currently for around $900. This, to me, is unacceptable and I will not buy it.