ASUS Xtreme Design Contest Update!

This post has 83 Replies | 10 Followers

Top 100 Contributor
Posts 862
Points 11,010
RyuGTX replied on Mon, Nov 2 2009 5:58 AM

Seiryuu (青龍) (aka Azure Dragon)

Concept

The inspiration for this project was Japan. I had a bunch of ideas, but I finally settled on one. I was inspired by this cool Japanese ramen restaurant that I went to a year ago. I wanted to incorporate some of the design elements into a case mod. The only problem was that less than half the case was modded. I figured that if I came up with my own name for a ramen restaurant, so I could draw some ideas from the kanji and its meaning to design the rest of the case. I wanted it to have something to do with my s/n (Ryu), which means dragon. Also, since I like blue and I would probably use it to light up my case, I wanted that in the name too. So I came up with Azure Dragon. This is my xtreme Seiryuu ramen case mod.

Warning: I have no experience with SketchUp and I don't have the time to learn at this moment so excuse the horrible pictures. I just took an existing model and pasted textures over it.

Since this case mod began from being inspired by ramen, I am going to dedicate a whole side panel to ramen. As you can hopefully see in the picture below, I am going to make a small display case so that I can put REAL instant ramen inside. Before I go any further, this ramen place was legit. They didn't use instant ramen in their dishes. Back on topic now.

Since the ramen window looks kind of plain, I'm going to cut a dragon out of the metal I cut out for the window and attach it to the plexi. It will be "floating" in the middle of the plexi; the dragon design will not be touching the metal part of the side panel.