Take a look at this warning generated by Google Chrome when I recently attempted to visit the HotHardware website. This is the only time I have ever seen this warning, and later visits to HotHardware connected normally with no warnings. Very strange. Has anyone here had a similar experience with Chrome and HotHardware?
SPAM-posters beware! ®
I saw that once. A fake steam website I used to test that feature. Wonder if there is someone we can talk to about this. If I saw this warning on a site I would turn away from said site.
Not sure what the deal is, but we'll definitely look into it!
Marco ChiappettaManaging Editor @ HotHardware.com
I think I got that when I first used chrome
"Never trust a computer you can't throw out a window."
Core i7 920 @ 3.8Ghz
Evga X58
Evga 275 FTW (SLI)
G.Skill DDR3 1600 6GB
Corsair 128GB SSD
Corsair 1000W PSU
Noctua NH-U12P
That's strange. I use McAfee Site Advisor on FF3 and it rates HH as green, and only links HH to green sites.
*New KILLER Rig!!* - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit Build 7100 (RC)Intel Core i7 920 OCed to 3.2GHz | CoolerMaster V8 | Patriot Viper 3x2GB DDR3-1333MHz | MSI Eclipse X58 | LG W2261V 22" 16:9 | Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB | MSI ATI 4870 1GB | Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050W PSU | CoolerMaster HAF 932 | ASUS DRW-22B1LT Lightscribe | Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme | Logitech X-540 | Razer Carcharias | Razer Lachesis | Razer Destructor/ Razer Goliathus Speed/ Fnatic SteelSeries Qck+ XL | OCZ Alchemy Elixir |
*My OLD Killer PC* - Windows Xp Home Edition 32 BitIntel Pentium 4 2.6Ghz -1GB (2x512MB) Hynix DDR-400Mhz SDRAM - Micro ATX ECS L4S5MG/651+ - Acer AL506 15" Monitor - Seagate 2.5" ST380012A IDE 5200RPM 80GB - ASUS nVidia TNT2 M64 32MB AGP x4 - Hyena 300W PSU - *CoolerMaster Storm Scout*
I got the same warning yesterday for the first time from Avast.
Possibly the link came from one of the advert frames?
People read the stupidest things. Like this sig, for instance.
The site was definitely serving up malware, at least briefly, possibly through an ad as previously mentioned. Here's what you got in IE 8 RC1:
The Remote Data Services (RDS) ActiveX control is a common vector for malware.
Here's what you got in Chrome:
There was also someone who pointed this out on Twitter:
http://twitter.com/peterkay/statuses/1153810864
The HotHardware story was linked to by a large number of high-volume sites. I wonder what percentage of viewers got nailed by this malware.
Hi Felix,
We became aware of an exploit via one of our ad partners and removed the threat immediately as soon as we found out. It will not return ever, I can assure you .
Thanks for the heads-up, all.
Sincerely,
Dave Altavilla Editor In Chief HotHardware.com
Editor In Chiefhttp://hothardware.com
yeah i'v got that a couple of times, does it on isohunt sometimes too, could just be google chrome =\
I'll be deleting this thread in the next day or so. Bad mojo... Regardless, the security hole we had exposed is now gone and the site is completely uncompromised. Sorry dudes... I guess when you get a little bigger you become a target. Not anymore though.
Thanks
Please don't delete this thread, Dave. The site was compromised and now it is not...nothing bad about that. I appreciate your transparency in this matter, and the fact that you have explained the situation. No site is invulnerable, not even a hardware website. If this thread is deleted there will be readers that will wonder what happened...I guarantee it. An honest explanation trumps bad mojo any day!
Please don't delete the thread, Dave. I think it shows that you guys listen to your audience and take action in a positive manner.
At worst, rename the thread as "[Solved]..." :)
Super Dave: Please don't delete this thread, Dave. The site was compromised and now it is not...nothing bad about that. I appreciate your transparency in this matter, and the fact that you have explained the situation. No site is invulnerable, not even a hardware website. If this thread is deleted there will be readers that will wonder what happened...I guarantee it. An honest explanation trumps bad mojo any day!
OK, OK.... The community has spoken and that is what they shall get. This lousy thread will live on.
lol. good man. I know everytime you see this thread it probably erks your nerves since you guys take so much pride in this place. the fact that your willing to keep it going speaks alot about ya'lls commitment to the members and their requests. Ya'll never cease to amaze me!
Thank you, Dave.
i never had any problems like that... though lately i havent really had much free time :-( , glad to see its all gone, and hothwardware always listens to its audience :-), now if only the senate was like this....
I saw some threads elsewhere which folks were saying the Google itself was a site that was being reported to not be safe by Google. Probably some sort of hack. Damn funny that it happened with Google's own pages too though.
http://googleblog.blogspot.com/2009/01/this-site-may-harm-your-computer-on.html
Sorry for adding to this thread Dave but I too wanted to thank you for leaving the information up as it does show openess, a willingness to listen to your readers, and the ability to respond to issues quickly. It is also good as someone is bound to read something somewhere and bring the topic up again at a future date and maybe this will avoid the issue altogether. By the way as long as I have your ear HH's RSS feeds are the absolute best and yours is one on-line publication I can honestly say I never miss a day without checking out. I have more than once made purchases based on seeing items for the first time in HH.
Sorry for straying off topic and this can be deleted per the rules obviously.
HOME | REVIEWS | VIDEOS | IMAGES | FORUMS | BLOGS | SHOP ABOUT | ADVERTISE | RSS/XML | NEWS TIPS | NEWS ARCHIVE
This site is intended for informational and entertainment purposes only. The contents are the views and opinion of the author and/or hisassociates. All products and trademarks are the property of their respective owners. All content and graphical elements areCopyright © 1999 - 2009 David Altavilla and HotHardware.com, LLC. All rights reserved. Privacy and Terms