US auto industry shot themselves in the foot

rated by 0 users
This post has 8 Replies | 4 Followers

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,171
Points 32,040
Dev Posted: Tue, Dec 2 2008 5:09 PM

I'm sure your aware that GM is going bankrupt fast (its a matter of weeks now) so I've no need to show sources. Without massive bailouts (approx $13 billion, 4 of which is absolutely essential) they will go under. If they go under the other two (Chrysler and Ford) will start to look shaky too. As suppliers and others will have to fold disrupting the entire network of manufacturing.

I'm not an industry expert but I feel like its completely their fault. American cars have simply not been able to compete with European and Asian counterparts. They plowed ahead with massive fuel consumption rates despite the clear global uncertainties concerning oil and the environmental movement making consumers much more conscience in this regard.

Do you think that perhaps arrogance blinded them to what was coming or are they genuinely the victims of a series of unforeseen events they simply couldn't have planned for such as the financial crisis.

Perhaps the best solution is to let the free market let them go bust and let new ownership restructure the company (phoenix from the ashes kind of thing) or are they like the banks and its in everyones best interest to give them a hand.

Perhaps the latter would work in Europe as we are more open to left wing philosophies and would be the norm but the US is meant to be the free market leader.

• | Post Points: 50
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,792
Points 28,435