Dell Precision WorkStation 690

rated by 0 users
This post has 4 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 65
KiltedKev Posted: Tue, Jul 22 2008 1:33 PM

I'm a newbie in this forum, so I'll introduce myself. I'm Kevin. There, now that that's out of the way, let me begin. Our company has just spent thousands of dollars on new hardware, listed in the subject. Dual-Quad Xeon processors on board. 2GB Ram. Two HDD, each with 250GB storage. They are complete dogs. We use a lot of aerial photos in our work, and these systems are slower that the six-year-old systems they replaced. We typically run AutoCAD, version 2009. I've been thinking that they may need to be overclocked? Front Side Bus ( 533 MHz) an issue? L2 cache too small (not sure how much)? With all of this processing power, you would think that they would just be screaming.

Any ideas will really be appreciated.

Kevin

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 3,017
Points 43,210

I am not an expert in this area by any means but doesn't auto cad rely heavily on graphics?

• | Post Points: 5
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 91
Points 1,395

Yes, CAD is very graphic intensive.  What kind of video cards are running in the systems?  The quad-core xeon's with 2GB of RAM should be more than sufficient, also which OS are you running?

ASUS Rampage Formula; Core 2 Quad Extreme QX9650 @5.13GHz; 4GB Buffalo Firestix PC2-9600 DDR2; Thermaltake Armor w/ Bigwater SE; XFX Geforce 9800 GTX 'Black Edition'; Corsair HX620 Power Supply 620W

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,341
Points 48,460
ForumsAdministrator
MembershipAdministrator
Marco C replied on Tue, Jul 22 2008 3:30 PM

You should make sure that you have AutoCAD certified drivers installed.  I've seen it run like total crap with non-certified drivers that were cleared up when I reverted back to older, certified drivers.

Marco Chiappetta
Managing Editor @ HotHardware.com

Follow Marco on Twitter

Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 5
Max H replied on Wed, Jul 23 2008 1:57 AM

Hello,