Alienware M14x Gaming Laptop Review

Article Index:   
Alienware's Alien Command Center software suite has been bundled with their M series of notebooks for a while now and the M14x also sports this package.  There are three primary sections of the Command Center: AlienFX, AlienTouch and AlienFusion.


Alien Command Center - AlienFX

AlienFX allows you to control the 9 lighting zones of the M14x that we spoke of earlier.  As you can see, a jog wheel is available to select colors from for each of the zone individually if you so choose.  The keyboard area has four divided zones itself, which could come in handy for certain gaming situations and key-mapping functions.


Alien Command Center - AlienTouch

AlienTouch allows you to adjust the sensitivity of the multi-touch capable touchpad area.  We're pretty thankful for this functionality as we often find ourselves accidentally bumping the touchpad on some machines, sending our cursor into a frenzy and wreaking havoc on the desktop.


Alien Command Center - AlienFusion

AlienFusion is where you control the machine's power plan and there is a fair bit of granularity here, with control of things like PCI Express link power under certain power profiles.  There are three preset power profiles (Balanced, High Performance and Power Saver) or you can create your own custom profiles.  Regardless, AlienFusion goes above and beyond simple Windows Power profile settings and really lets you dial the machine in at the power settings that make the most sense for you.


Alienware M14x Windows Experience Rating

Finally, before we dig into the benchmark numbers, here's a quick look at what Windows thinks of the M14x.  With a total available score of 7.9, the M14x scores rather competitively versus other 14-inch machines in its class.  The lowest subscores here are listed as the graphics and hard disk tests, though a 5.9, for notebook-built components in these areas is still respectable.  Next, let's look a bit deeper into performance with a few full-fledged benchmark datapoints.
 

Image gallery

Related content

Comments

Comments
omegadraco 3 years ago

Thanks for the review Dave. This looks like a beast of machine. The lighting is a really nice touch that Dell has added in. Though I think if I personally were to spend that kind of money I probably would go with a MainGear System.

Dave_HH 3 years ago

It's a great notebook for sure. Dell's Alienware division makes some pretty sweet product.

LBowen 3 years ago

Powerhouse laptop for sure. My alienware was good for gaming while it lasted but it ran so hot so at least it sounds like they were able to take care of heating issues with these latest models.

OptimusPrimeTime 3 years ago

"A nice little monster thats for sure, the only thing that I'm not wild about is the glossy screen and the price, but Alienware and Dell makes some wicked Mobile machines. I just feel that their Desktop Lineup design needs a complete overhaul, its no attractive anymore and they are not aggressive anymore with overclocking.'

-Optimus

schmich 3 years ago

Gaming laptops are a joke. Expensive whilst having bad performance. We need those desktop grade GPUs externally now! Sony started it but put a crappy lowend mobile GPU in it...make the whole external thing useless.

Paintface 3 years ago

http://www.amazon.com/G53SW-XA1-Republic-Gamers-15-6-Inch-Gaming/dp/B004X5XL3Q/?tag=thnenedo-20

$500 cheaper, higher quality, faster ( cpu and GPU) , full HD screen......

Dave_HH 3 years ago

Paintace, good to have you with us. That's a nice machine from Asus for sure but a larger form-factor, so a different animal really. It has the same CPU, not faster but the 460M in the Asus machine is faster than the 555M in the M14x. It's a trade-off really -- size vrs horsepower for the dollar. Both machines have their merits.

3vi1 3 years ago

>> The 8-cell battery in the M14x is self-contained and cannot be removed or replaced.

Yikes... I like it otherwise, but that kind of bites. That means that almost no one's going to make replacement batteries. So, when it's dead in a few years, you can pay Alienware a premium to replace the battery, or throw what would be a great web-book/office machine in the trash (it probably won't be good for playing Windows games at that point, but it would be a kick-ass software development box).

dial11 3 years ago

"The 8-cell battery in the M14x is self-contained and cannot be removed or replaced."

This does not seem to be correct. See Dell's website for instructions on replacing the M14x's battery (http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/M14x/en/SM/battery.htm).

SmogHog 3 years ago

What most laptop reviews are missing is more information about the hardware that's in the unit.

Simply running Lavalys Everest Ultimate or it's replacement will reveal exactly which LCD screen is used,what the stock wireless card is,which ODD is in there and more info about the camera,USB chips,sound,and lan.

I'm sure many potential buyers would like to know exactly what they're getting.

There's a lot more to a laptop than just the CPU and GPU..

Dave_HH 3 years ago

We typically have done this another way, via showing a screenshot from device manager. However, I like the idea of being able to detect display manufacturer etc. I'll look into this. Thanks for your feedback, SH.

jd251986 2 years ago

Hi My name is JD. I work for Dell. Nice post written as it provides precise information on Alienware m14x gaming laptop and its configuration. I think Alienware laptops are good in gaming thats why its always been a gamers choice. You can check more varieties in Alienware gaming laptops at Dell online store at http://www.dell.com/uk/p/laptops. Thanks for sharing.

sammuel 2 years ago

I like this gaming laptop, but my DELL Alienware M14x battery can't charge now, i decide to buy a replacenet from http://www.cbattery.net

XJean 2 years ago

Alienware M14x,I like it,give a super expirence for gaming.

laptop battery

mustking 2 years ago

batteria HP Pavilion dv6 http://www.batterietutti.com/hp-pavilion-dv6.html

batteria Pavilion dv4 http://www.batterietutti.com/hp-pavilion-dv4.html

batteria HP Pavilion DV7 http://www.batterietutti.com/hp-pavilion-dv7.html

batteria HP Pavilion dv6000 http://www.batterietutti.com/hp-pavilion-dv6000.html

HP Pavilion dv9000 batteria http://www.batterietutti.com/hp-pavilion-dv9000.html

batteria HP Pavilion dv6500 http://www.batterietutti.com/hp-pavilion-dv6500.html

batteria HP Compaq 6710b http://www.batterietutti.com/hp-compaq-business-notebook-6710b.html

batteria HP G61 http://www.batterietutti.com/hp-g61.html

mustking 2 years ago

batteria Asus G74SX http://www.buonabatteria.com/asus-g74sx.html

batteria Asus K53TA http://www.buonabatteria.com/asus-k53ta.html

batteria Asus n82j http://www.buonabatteria.com/asus-n82j.html

batteria Asus K53E-A1 http://www.buonabatteria.com/asus-k53e-a1.html

batteria ASUS G51JX-X1 http://www.buonabatteria.com/asus-g51jx-x1.html

batteria ASUS Eee PC 1005PE http://www.buonabatteria.com/asus-eee-pc-1005pe.html

batteria Asus A32-K93 http://www.buonabatteria.com/asus-a32-k93.html

batteria Asus Eee PC 1215N http://www.buonabatteria.com/asus-eee-pc-1215n.html

Aberration 2 years ago

The Alienware M17X has always been on my top five list of dream laptops and this little guy is  such a great looking laptop, I think it would make anyone happy for sure. :)

Post a Comment
or Register to comment