Sony Unplugs PlayStation Network for All-Day Maintenance

Surprise, surprise (not really), Sony's PlayStation Network (PSN) is down again for more routine maintenance. This has become a regular occurrence that PlayStation 3 gamers have learned (or are learning) to put up with, and this latest bit of downtime is scheduled to last pretty much all day, according to an official blog post by Matthew Harper, Senior Manager for Sony's PlayStation Digital Platforms.

"My name is Matthew Harper, and I’m part of the recently-formed PlayStation Digital Platforms Community Management team. Our mission is to keep you better informed about everything that is going on in the wide world of the PlayStation Network, to make your voice heard within the company, and to ensure that you, the gamer, are at the heart of every development across PSN. Together, we will help guide the future of this platform," Harper explains.

"I’m here today to let you know that we will be performing routine scheduled maintenance on the network on Monday, April 16th, starting at approximately 6:00 am PDT / 9:00 am EDT," Harper continues. "This maintenance will last roughly 13 hours, concluding around 7:00pm PDT / 10:00 pm EDT. During much of this time, users won’t be able to access the PlayStation Store, PlayStation Home, Account Management or play online. PSN enabled websites will not be able to service users, including this one."

On the bright side, at least Sony waited until Monday to give its network a tweaking rather than cut users off on the weekend. Interestingly, this latest round nearly coincides with the one-year anniversary of what turned out to be a massive data breach last year, resulting in several weeks of downtime. Routine maintenance has gone on ever since.

Sony said it will announce on its PlayStation Twitter feed the moment PSN is back online.

Via:  Sony
Show comments blog comments powered by Disqus