Calif. Drivers Welcome 2009, and No  More SMS

Calif. Drivers Welcome 2009, and No More SMS

Text messaging may be more popular then making phone calls, but as of the New Year, California drivers have to resort to the old school style of talking to people, at least while driving. In September of 2008 California banned text messaging while driving, effective Jan. 1, 2009.

Lest California drivers forget, they still need to use a hands-free setup or headset while behind the wheel, as well.

Studies have shown as many as 30% of cell phone users text while driving. And before BlackBerry users get their hopes up, emailing counts as well.

A violation will result in a $20 fine for a first offense and $50 for each subsequent offense. Yes, yes, it's such a low fine that some will probably ignore it. After all, fines are similar for the headset law, and some people in California seem to ignore that as well. However, approximately 42,000 drivers have been cited under the headset law.

Oh, and don't think you can get away with reading as opposed to writing. That's a violation as well.
0
+ -

how about operating an Ipod, which if you have an Iphone or a BB you can say you were changing songs provided its plugged into the car...

0
+ -

How are they going to know if you are looking at the time or reading an SMS?

0
+ -

 olny $20? For real? Sounds like more of a revenue generating act than a law to protect people.

0
+ -

It's hard to see how this would work. How would they actually police all drivers? And some people would get through, as not everyone can be checked 24/7.

0
+ -

You don't think that the people this law is aimed at will automatically follow it?

http://www.theonion.com/content/amvo/teens_ignore_mobile_phone_laws

0
+ -

The Onion...what a cool website! Thanks for the link, 3vi1.

0
+ -

Man I had stuff to do. Just wasted the last hour on the onion.

0
+ -

Hehe... sorry guys. :p I've been reading that site for years, and I suddenly remembered that article.

0
+ -

Oh well, I don't care. I don't talk on the phone or text while driving.

0
+ -

>> A violation will result in a $20 fine for a first offense and $50 for each subsequent offense. <<

Wow... 3rd Degree reckless endangerment usually carries prison time of more than a year. I don't think a $20 fine will dissuade any vapid airhead who thinks they just have to text while they're driving (and probably spends more than $20 on texting anyway).

0
+ -

What is amazing is that they had to enact a law against texting-while-driving. This should be a no-brainer!

Login or Register to Comment
Post a Comment
Username:   Password: